Babar Azam nominated for ICC Player of the Month award for May

Pakistan’s talented cricket captain, Babar Azam, has been nominated for the prestigious ICC Player of the Month award for his outstanding performances in May. Competing against him for the award are Bangladesh’s Najmul Hossain Shanto and Ireland’s Harry Tector, who also showcased their skills during the same period.

Azam’s nomination stems from his remarkable contributions to Pakistan’s series victory over New Zealand. While Fakhar Zaman dominated the early stages of the ODI series in April and secured the ICC Men’s Player of the Month award, it was Azam who shone brightly in the latter matches, leaving a lasting impact on the outcome. In the third ODI, Azam scored a commendable 54 runs, setting the stage for his highlight of the month—a commanding 107 runs from 117 balls. This outstanding performance guided the home side to a convincing 102-run triumph in Karachi.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) expressed its confidence in Azam’s abilities in a recent press release. They stated, “If successful, Babar will become the first player to win the ICC Men’s Player of the Month award on three separate occasions (April 2021 and March 2022).” Such an achievement would cement Azam’s position as one of the game’s most exceptional talents.

The winners of the ICC Player of the Month award will be determined through a voting process that involves the ICC Voting Academy and cricket fans worldwide. The results are expected to be announced next week. Fans who have registered at can exercise their right to vote for their favorite performers until Saturday.

The voting academy for the ICC Player of the Month for May 2023 includes esteemed cricket personalities such as Afghanistan’s Hameed Qayoomi and Javed Hamim, Australia’s Scott Bailey and Lisa Sthalekar, Bangladesh’s Mohammad Sekander Ali and Md Ariful Islam Roney, England’s Elizabeth Ammon and Lydia Greenway, Ireland’s Ger Siggins and Clare Shillington, India’s S Gomesh and Irfan Pathan, New Zealand’s Merryn Anderson and Craig Cumming, Pakistan’s Sawera Pasha and Sana Mir, South Africa’s Zaahier Adams and Ashwell Prince, Sri Lanka’s Azzam Ameen and Farveez Maharoof, West Indies’ Daren Ganga and Stacy Ann King, and Zimbabwe’s Daniel Nhakaniso and Grant Flower. Ajit Vijaykumar and Dirk Nannes, renowned cricket experts, are also part of the esteemed voting panel.

The cricketing world eagerly awaits the announcement of the ICC Player of the Month for May, as it signifies the recognition of exceptional talent and remarkable performances in the sport. Babar Azam’s nomination is a testament to his skill, dedication, and ability to leave an indelible mark on the game.